MODG News

Meet Your Teacher: Kaleigh Hultine!

Faith Costello, Reporter

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.


Email This Story






Kierra Irzyk
Kaleigh Hultine, with her husband Nick and her son, Bradley.

Name: Kaleigh Marie (Irzyk) Hultine

Age: 25

Married/Single: I’ve been with my husband, Nick, for almost three years now.  We grew up on the same street and he was best friends with my three older brothers.  We spent many summers playing in the woods, fishing, and playing baseball with the neighborhood kids.  We lived on a private street with about 10 other houses and lots of neighborhood kids. I was the only girl so I had to hold my own! My husband joined the military and we lost touch for many years.  Out of the blue he sent me a message while he was in Afghanistan asking how everyone was doing… and the rest is history. He was deployed the majority of our dating and engagement, which was OK because I got to really focus on school!  He is now finishing up his Master’s degree in Criminal Justice and is working to become a police officer.

Where do you live? I live on the same street I grew up on!  My in-laws live next door, and my parents live down the road!  I live in a very small town in Massachusetts called Granville. We have more cows than people and no stoplights.  

Where did you grow up? I lived in Connecticut until I was ten years old before moving to Granville.

Do you have any pets? I currently have one rescue dog named Teesha.  She is a 70 pound Catahoula Leopard. She’s very spoiled… Growing up, however, I had dogs, cats, a chinchilla, a freshwater fish tank (which had a blue lobster and a huge water snake who was an escape artist)! I hope to have many more animals in the future.

Do you have any children? I have one child, Bradley, who is 10 months old.  He’s such a little love and hasn’t tried a food he doesn’t like!!

What do you teach? I currently teach Chemistry and Earth Science, however next year I hope to teach Bio as well.

Did you always want to be a teacher? I didn’t always want to be a teacher.  I wanted to follow in my big brother’s footsteps and be in the medical field.  I started college as pre-med (bio and chem major). I quickly found that I have too much anxiety when handling anyone in pain or discomfort.  I also knew I wanted to have a family and be home with my children, while still sharing my love of science. That’s when I started working towards the goal of becoming a MODG teacher!

What are some of your favorite hobbies? I love anything crafty. Knitting, bullet journaling, paper crafts, etc.  I also love to be outside… hiking, fishing, camping.  I play piano and read as well to unwind after a stressful day.

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About the Writer
Faith Costello, Reporter

Junior at Mother of Divine Grace School.

Leave a Comment

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.




Navigate Left
  • Meet Your Teacher: Kaleigh Hultine!

    Features

    MODG Graduation 2019: What You NEED to Know

  • Meet Your Teacher: Kaleigh Hultine!

    Features

    Student Spotlight: Emma Hayes, Another MODG YouTuber!

  • Meet Your Teacher: Kaleigh Hultine!

    Features

    MODG on Location: The Lost Celtic Art of Holy Family Church in Buffalo, NY

  • Meet Your Teacher: Kaleigh Hultine!

    Features

    What You Might Not Know About Notre Dame Cathedral

  • Meet Your Teacher: Kaleigh Hultine!

    Features

    Thomas Aquinas College, New England, Open House: Slideshow

  • Meet Your Teacher: Kaleigh Hultine!

    Features

    Birthdays of the Week

  • Meet Your Teacher: Kaleigh Hultine!

    Features

    10 Things to Do Outside in Spring

  • Meet Your Teacher: Kaleigh Hultine!

    Features

    Birthdays of the Week!

  • Meet Your Teacher: Kaleigh Hultine!

    Features

    Where Are They Now? John Milliken

  • Meet Your Teacher: Kaleigh Hultine!

    Features

    Around the World in 80 Photos

Navigate Right
The student news site of Mother of Divine Grace in Ojai, California
Meet Your Teacher: Kaleigh Hultine!